ASID Announces Expanded National Awards Initiative

May 3, 2023
This year's program to feature all new categories and opportunities to spotlight inclusivity; application window extended to May 15.

The American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) has opened submissions and nominations for its 2023 National Awards. Featuring a refreshed format that offers broader inclusivity, the 2023 awards provide 24 opportunities for ASID members and non-members alike to be recognized with the Society's highest merits. The 2023 awards will be presented during GATHER, the national conference by ASID, in Los Angeles, Aug. 13-15, 2023.

ASID's National Awards honor achievement by a broad range of individuals, teams, and organizations who are advancing the design profession through volunteerism, advocacy, research, service, education and leadership. To increase inclusivity and accessibility for ASID awards recognition, this year's program includes new categories like the FOCUS Project Awards and the Annual Awards. 

"ASID's awards have long been a symbol of prestige and excellence in the interior design practice," said Khoi Vo, chief executive officer, ASID. "Our awards distinguish the top achievements in interior design, and as a leading voice in the community, ASID is proud to increase accessibility and inclusivity for recognition to practitioners spanning all sectors of the profession."

The FOCUS Project Awards category spotlights stellar design projects that address four areas of global issue: wellness, diversity, community and climate. The category recognizes projects completed between Jan. 1, 2021, and March 1, 2023, from both ASID members and nonmembers, and will be judged and awarded according to firm size (small at 1-10 employees; medium at 11-50 employees; large at 51+ employees.

The Annual Awards celebrate the work and achievements of practitioners made throughout the year. They will honor: Designer of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Student of the Year, Chapter of the Year, Educator of the Year, Firm of the Year, Community Impact of the Year and Advocate of the Year.

The returning Legacy Awards honor interior designers and organizations across four categories: Designer of Distinction, Steward of Distinction, Luminary of Distinction, and Firm of Distinction. Winners of these awards have exhibited cumulative design excellence through their impressive portfolios, professional contributions and support from colleagues and other interior design professionals.

Nominations for the ASID awards closed April 24 and applications close May 15. The National Awards are open to all interior designers, ASID members and nonmembers, through nominations and applications, however some categories are exclusive to ASID members. 

Sponsored Recommendations

An All-Star Team Reimagines the Historic Fulton Fish Market

The 1907 Tin Building travels seaward to its now Pier 17 location as Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s latest culinary endeavor, carried by fellow New Yorkers designers Roman and Williams...

ASID Report Examines the Rise of Adaptive Reuse

Read on to see which CRE markets are benefiting and how are they riding the renovation wave.

The November IG Takeover: CRÈME Architecture & Design

Get to know founder Jun Aizaki and learn how you can host a takeover of your own.

The 2023 i+s Editors’ Holiday Gift Guide

It's back! Check out some of our editors' must-have gifts this holiday season, and come back throughout December for more.

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of I+S Design, create an account today!